Free play day

Today I had just one mindee (aged 4) and my own 17 month old son.  I enjoy having a different mix of children on different days to see the differences in their play and interactions. With no school runs and time constraints, I let my mindee lead the activities for the day. It was nice for him to be the eldest in my setting for the day and watch his confidence and leadership in situations alongside my young son.

Whilst my son went down for his nap, my mindee enjoyed playing with playdough. When my son awoke later my mindee then enjoyed playing with him until home time. Playing with babies and toddlers is great for their personal, social and emotional development (PSED) and teaches them lots of valuable skills such as the art of caring and sharing. There are also numerous benefits for babies and toddlers playing alongside older children.

The Early Years Outcomes early learning goal for making relationships within PSED is for “Children to play cooperatively, taking turns with others. They take account of one another’s ideas about how to organise their activity. They show sensitivity to others’ needs and feelings, and form positive relationships with adults and other children.”. I am confident that my mindees are exhibiting this behaviour which makes me very proud of them!

Leave a Reply

