Covering the 7 areas of learning…in one day!

The EYFS statutory framework 2014 lays out the seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings.

The areas of learning are:

  1. communication and language
  2. physical development
  3. personal, social and emotional development
  4. literacy
  5. mathematics
  6. understanding the world
  7. expressive arts and design

Today, with one of my mindees and my son we were able to tick off all 7 areas of learning through no particular pre-planning.

Given that it was his first day back after Christmas and it’s still the holidays, we had a relaxed day which we spent mostly at home with two short outings thrown in but still managed to cover all of the following –

  • Playing with the new remote control tractor (Understanding the World: Technology)
  • Read new book about Transport (Literacy)
  • Completed a puzzle about the Solar System (Understanding the World – The World)
  • Took a trip to the shops (Mathematics, Communication & Language)
  • Played with my son building with the Duplo bricks (Personal, Social and Emotional Development)
  • Played with playdough (Communication and Language, Expressive Arts and Design, Physical Development (fine motor skills) and Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • A trip to the recycling centre (Understanding the World – The World)

And there we have it, all 7 areas of learning covered in just one day!




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s