Focus on…Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

The EYFS Statutory framework 2014 explains how Personal, social and emotional developmentinvolves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities”.

Here at Aston Childcare respect and consideration underpins everything we do. I ensure I am a good role model by being fair. I praise good behaviour and am alert to any injustices and ensure they are addressed and resolved.

When I have a baby in my setting I recognise the importance of attachment and ensure I give them plenty of one to one time, playing with them and building security and attachment with me.

With older children I ensure they have my full attention and ensure I understand and teach them to understand one another’s feelings. I teach the children to treat one another how they would like to be treated themselves regardless of their age or gender.

I encourage children to be independent and to give things a go.

Here are just some of the resources I use and activities we do to help the children develop and learn personally, socially and emotionally –

PERSONAL, SOCIAL AND EMOTIONAL DEVELOPMENT RESOURCES

  • Books eg. “What makes me happy”, “What I like” and “The Feelings book”.
  • Books such as “The Little Old Lady who Cried Wolf” showing effects of negative behaviour on others
  • Role play items such as tea set and dressing up clothes
  • Mood Spoons – wooden spoons featuring different emotions (happy, sad, angry, worried).
  • Emotion flash cards depicting a variety of emotions ie. sad, angry, happy

PERSONAL, SOCIAL AND EMOTIONAL DEVELOPMENT ACTIVITIES

  • Role play with the doll’s house, barn and Happyland characters that depict people from all walks of life.
  • Making dens using the dining table and chairs and sheets
  • Sand and Water play in the garden (promotes social skills as children work together at the sand table they are faced with real problems that require sharing, compromising, and negotiating).
  • Children sit and chat with one another on the sofa, sat on cushions or in dens they’ve created
  • Games that involve turn taking such as cards or matching pairs.
  • Looking in mirrors with babies and chat about what we can see
  • Creating pictures and crafts of one another’s faces
Leave a Reply

