Under the Sea

This afternoon my mindee and I created this fab ‘under the sea’ themed picture.

We started off by looking at some shells and a starfish. This was a lovely sensory activity as my mindee put his ear to the shells to listen to them and explored the shapes and textures and feel of each shell and the starfish.

We used real play sand to represent the bottom of the sea before adding our sea creatures.

My mindee decorated the fish. “These are the gills” he told me. He carefully coloured in the sea horse, dolphin and shark in the colours of his choice.

I asked him what we might find in the sea and he told me “sharks, sea horse, boats and submarines”!

I love activities like this where the subject matter really captures the interest of the child.

“Can I take it home” he asked me at the end.

We were really pleased with the end result!

Areas of Learning covered: Communication and Language, Expressive Arts and Design, Physical Development (fine motor skills) and Understanding the World.

Leave a Reply

