Working in partnership with parents

I know myself that picking a childminder can be a daunting task and as a parent I understand your concern for finding the right person. Leaving your child with a stranger for the first time is a huge step for both you and your child. This is why it’s of the utmost importance that you and I develop a good working relationship so that you are comfortable and happy leaving your child and most importantly that your child is happy and settled.

Here are just some of the ways I work in partnership with parents to ensure your child is getting the best possible care –

  • You will come and meet me and get a feel for both me and my setting
  • You will be given the opportunity to view my qualifications and certificates
  • We will then decide a start date and discuss your requirements for settling in sessions – these can be as many or as few as you would like
  • I will ask for your child’s “Starting points”. For babies these will be the EYFS 3 prime areas (as defined by the government and Early Years professionals) which are –
  • Physical Development,
  • Communication & Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

For older children it will be the 3 prime areas plus the EYFS 4 specific areas  –

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding the World
  • You will complete a comprehensive form about your child telling me all about them (their sleep preferences, eating habits, allergies, any comforters etc).
  • I will observe and plan for your child’s time with me – All observations will be made available to view at your convenience on an online system where you can also view pictures of them
  • I will email you termly updates about your child’s progress and development
  • In between all of the above we will have doorstop chats, emails and text messages to discuss your child.

In addition, I am always available by phone or email whenever you wish to chat.

Two of my mindees have moved on this week due to changing circumstances with their parents work. I was very touched to receive lovely bouquets of flowers and chocolates from them both. Both said their children were very happy in my care which is always lovely to hear.

Leave a Reply

