Encouraging independence

Here at Aston Childcare I aim to promote your child’s independence by providing them with lots of opportunities to do things for themselves. As the saying goes “It is not what you do for your children, but what you have taught them to do for themselves, that will make them successful human beings”. Where possible, I try not to do things for children that they can do for themselves. All of these things help children be school ready and have a sense of independence which is great for their confidence.

independence quote

  • I encourage children to put on their own socks, shoes and coats allowing themplenty of time to do things for themselves.! I love this coat flip – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gux6T_OY8n4
  • I encourage children to drink from open cups (starting with doidy cups for little ones)
  • I provide child-size cutlery so that young children can feed themselves
  • I listen to babies and children and respond to what they are telling me. If a baby turns his head during meal times it means he is full; when a little one says ‘no’ I stop and respect their wishes.
  • I encourage children to open their own wrappers and packaging
  • I encourage children to pour their own drink’s
  • I encourage children to wash and dry their own hands
  • I provide books that support their independence such as potty training which help children learn that toileting is something to be praised and that, even with the odd accident along the way, they can eventually succeed. The story of the hare and the tortoise reminds children that they should keep trying and they will get there in the end, supporting children who find things a bit hard and encouraging them to try again.
  • I encourage children to help with choosing new toys etc. This allows them to see that their thoughts are valued and their contributions are important. I  give children appropriate praise so they know that I value their involvement.
  • I stand back and let children play by themselves anddo not ‘helicopter’ around them. I respect their right to play their own games but am always close by in case I am needed.
  • I support children to make choices – what they want to eat, where they want to play, the type of games they want to be involved in, if they want to opt out etc.
  • I involve children in planning their environment and activities.

 

Leave a Reply

