Coping with crying

When my son was born we had a stressful week long stay in the hospital. I remember pacing the hospital corridors in an attempt to calm him away from the busy, hectic ward I was on. I would walk past this poster every hour or so and stop and remind myself of my child’s crying cues. It really helped me in those early days so much so that when I returned home I pinned a copy up on the inside of a kitchen cupboard door and shared it with my sister when she had her son 6 months later.

baby-crying-poster

The NSPCC have developed a short film ‘Coping with Crying’ which helps to prepare parents for the stress they might feel when their baby cries and help them to cope better.

https://www.nspcc.org.uk/services-and-resources/services-for-children-and-families/coping-with-crying/

In the film, parents share their experience of looking after their new baby and provide practical tips. The film also includes advice from experts about crying.

Leave a Reply

