‘Breakfast sugar’ warning

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-38467861

According to this story in the BBC news today, Public Health England say that “Children are packing in so much sugar at breakfast that half their daily allowance has already been eaten before school” which is slightly worrying.

My sons cereal of choice is Weetabix so using the “Food Smart” app they recommend, I scanned the barcode of the Weetabix box to find out more.

img_1219

I was relieved to see that Weetabix is listed as a great choice and scores low on their traffic light system for Sugar, Saturated Fat and Salt.

I will definitely be using the app to review all the foods I am offering the children as part of my commitment to providing the children in my care with a healthy diet

Leave a Reply

