Lunchtime Funtime

As an OFSTED registered childminder it is my duty to positively promote the health and well-being of the children in my care. By encouraging healthy eating habits in childhood we can help influence health and well-being in later life. The food I provide is fresh, healthy, wholesome and nutritious.

I am committed to providing the children in my care with a healthy diet. To grow and stay healthy children need to eat a nutritionally well balanced diet.

So I wanted to start to share some of the meals we enjoy here at Aston Childcare.

For lunch today my son and 18 month old mindee enjoyed Cream of Tomato Soup and fresh baked wholemeal bread.

I started making this recipe when my son hit an incredibly fussy stage with eating, and, at my wits end, I turned to Annabel Karmel’s  Baby and Toddler recipe book and “The Fussy Eater” chapter!  It claims “This tasty tomato soup made with fresh tomatoes, carrots and onion is popular with children. Blending vegetables into a soup is a good way to encourage your child to eat more vegetables”. And sure enough, he loved it. It provides beta-carotene, potassium, and Vitamins A, C and E.

I am glad to say that  it is now a firm favourite here.

Leave a Reply

