Books Glorious Books!

Today (2nd March) is World Book Day.

I love seeing the children up at the pre-school and primary school all dressed up as characters from their favourite books, anything that celebrates books and instils a love of reading is fantastic.

Here at Aston Childcare we love our books! I do my best to provide a wide range of books to cater for all different ages and interests. Of course I have a never ending wish list of books I would like to buy.

I loved reading as a child and would like to instil a love of books in both my own son and my mindees too. I know from chatting with the parents that all the children are keen readers at home and I love it when they bring in their favourite books to sit and read with me.

Here are just some of the books available here at Aston Childcare:

  • For babies: First fabric sensory books, Board books, Usbornes touchy-feely books such as “That’s not my badger!” Slide and Find window books,
  • For toddlers and pre-schoolers Pop up books, sound books, Children’s favourites such as Rabbits nap, Foxes socks, Where’s Spot, Tickle Monster,Nursery rhymes, Fables, First Fairytales, Audio CD books, Books on Starting school
  • Books celebrating and exploring diversity: Susan Laughs, Handa’s Surprise, Handa’s Hen, Whoever you are, All kinds of people, All kinds of beliefs, Mama Panya’s pancakes, The skin I’m in
  • Books about the world: Books on Money, Recycling, Time, Energy, Food, professions, bugs, bats, snakes, Seasons, Weather
  • Books about us: Our bodies, Books on feelings, All about me
  • For older children: First poems, Early Readers, Wonderwise Collection, First Thesaurus, First Dictionary, First Science Dictionary
  • Special Interest Books: Books on Trains, Dinosaurs, Costume Design
  • Festivals and Celebrations: Christmas, Chinese New Year, Easter, Diwali
  • Children’s Classics: The Gruffalo, Room on the Broom, We’re Going On A Bear Hunt, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, The Tiger who came to Tea, The snail and the whale, Paddington

I also make use of story sacks from time to time. Books are stored in the playroom at Babies height so they can pick and choose their own and we have a much wider selection in the living room in a large bookcase on the floor. The kids pull up a cushion and sit and choose books to read or climb on to the sofa and we read together.

wbd1wbd2wbd3

Leave a Reply

